The European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL)


The European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) is an internationally recognised IT qualification designed to give students the skills to use a computer confidently and effectively. This official ECDL online course can help to improve your understanding and efficient use of computers. The course opens up a variety of opportunities through the broad range of skills it provides. The ECDL qualification is widely recognised by employers as proof of ability and competence when working with IT. The ECDL is designed for novice and intermediate computer users, assumes no prior expertise, and offers a flexible working programme. ECDL is the world’s leading computer skills certification. To date more than 14 million people have engaged with the ECDL programme in over 100 countries.Please Note: The ECDL Online Course covers Windows 7 and up to Office 2013 and the exams have to be sat at a registered ECDL testing centre.

We recommend the IT Essentials (RQF) – Level 2 Course for students with Windows 10 and Office 2013 or later. The IT Essentials Course covers the same subjects and will lead to a certificate of completion for those not wanting to gain a qualification, or students can pay the additional accreditation fee and gain an IT User Skills Level 2 Certificate Qualification with 32 credits through the submission of coursework, so there is no need to attend an exam centre.

The ECDL syllabus offers a comprehensive study programme suitable for anyone new to computers who would like to gain a good understanding of how PCs work and how to use popular software programs.

Versions of ECDL Exams:

The ECDL syllabus can be broken down and delivered as different tests at registered testing centres:

ECDL Essentials is a Level 1 ITQ Award and consists of modules 1, 2 & 7. ECDL Essentials is designed as an introduction to IT. ECDL Essentials is accredited on both the QCF (England and Wales) and SCQF (Scotland) framework (QCF Qualification Accreditation Number – 500/6226/8).

ECDL Extra is a Level 2 ITQ Award and consists of modules 3, 4, 6 and 8 (Improving Productivity Using IT). ECDL Extra builds on a students basic knowledge to improve their understanding of word processing, spreadsheets and presentation software packages. ECDL Extra is accredited on both the QCF (England and Wales) and SCQF (Scotland) framework (QCF Qualification Accreditation Number – 500/6242/6).

ECDL Core (7 Unit) consists of Modules 1 to 7 and excludes the Productivity in IT module. The qualification is widely recognised by employers as proof of ability and competence when working with computers. The ECDL 7 consists of individual units taken from the BCS IT User Skills Qualification (QCF Qualification Accreditation Number – 601/8240/4).


Level 1 ECDL Certificate in IT User Skills (RQF)

Who is this course for?

This course is designed for those who are new to computers and wish to gain an understanding of how the major software packages work for both personal and work use.


There are no prerequisites for this course. although students should be able to comfortably use the Internet. The recommended settings to run this course are: Internet Explorer; Flash Player; Popup windows enabled; and Minimum Windows 7 Operating System. It is possible to use other browsers to run this course although the BCS recommend using Internet Explorer as elements of the course require Flash and Java which may not be supported in other browsers.


Module 1 – Basic Concepts of Information Technology (IT): The basics of PC’s from hardware to software and how we use them in everyday life.
Module 2 – Using the Computer and Managing Files: How to navigate and organise your desktop and files.
Module 3 – Word Processing: Basic operations of Word, formatting, finishing and printing a document amongst other more advanced features.
Module 4 – Spreadsheets: Basic operations of Excel, formulas, functions, formatting and printing amongst other more advanced features.
Module 5 – Databases: Basic operations of Access, creating and making changes to databases, using forms and retrieving and reporting information.
Module 6 – Presentations: Basic operations of Powerpoint, formatting, using graphics and charts, printing and slideshows.
Module 7 – Information and Communication: Basic operations of the internet explorer and Outlook, including web navigation and searching, bookmarking, creating and sending emails and message management.

Course Duration & Support

Students may register at any time and have access to the course materials online for a 1 year period. Email support is available for the full period of your study.


The BCS and ECDL Portfolio of qualifications have been designed to map directly into ITQ so that when you gain a BCS or ECDL certificate you will also be receiving ITQ certification. ITQ is a portfolio of qualifications which replaced the National Vocational Qualifications (NVQ) for IT and computing. It is a nationally-recognised programme which has been designed by employers to meet the needs of today’s businesses.

Guided learning Hours:

Approximate Self Study Time – 80 Hours (Self Study)



How To Register

If you need help to find out about the course booking or further information about the course, please call or email us.

Click here to enroll now


Call to Enquire


Call to Enquire